h1

Vegan Brunch at Devil’s Backbone.

October 10, 2010

Attended a vegan potluck brunch this morning in Loveland, or just west of it, really. The hostess’ backyard faced Devil’s Backbone.

Granted, I was forty-five minutes late as Google Maps totally led me astray! The whole drive over there was a disaster. I was driving down one lane roads and over one lane bridges and the directions were telling me to turn down a gravel road that didn’t exist, and there was so much turning around that I actually got carsick. Which I don’t believe has ever happened to me while I was the actual driver of the car. And all I could think about was my co-worker Amy’s story of how she drove off a cliff at Horsetooth and how I didn’t want to do the same. And I saw a woman in an Outback on the side of the road on her cellphone while I was on the phone with Michael asking him for help, and I’m convinced that she was on her way to the brunch as well, but she must have given up before finding the way. I, however, persevered! Though I did almost cry at one point. Pathetic, but true.

Back to talk of a pleasant nature! I took pictures of what I made to take along. First pictures of food that I’ve taken in quite some time. Although the quiche didn’t get to attend, as I left it out on the counter all night and was scared that I’d poison the other guests if I brought it. Michael voted that I bring it anyway, as no one would be able to tell which of the dishes got people sick. I admit I considered it!

Not that talk of potential food poisoning is pleasant. But pictures of food before it goes bad is pleasant.

Vegan Quiche:
Vegan Quiche

Recipe here. And we did eat one of those last night, just to make sure it was good before I served the second one to strangers. It was quite good, too. The recipe had me at roasted vegetables.

Next up. Carrot Spice Muffins – on an LSU plate:
Carrot Spice Muffins

I did bring more. Those are just the two that I have left over! I made those at 7 o’clock this morning, right after I sat up in bed and said, “I left the quiche out all night!” I was worried about how they’d turn out because it wasn’t really a recipe for high altitude baking. And I didn’t have soy yogurt, so I subbed soy buttermilk (i.e. that DIY recipe of soymilk plus apple cider vinegar).

But the first guy to take a muffin immediately tapped his wife’s shoulder and said, “You have to try one!” So they worked out in the end.

Got the muffin recipe from fatfreevegan. Which means I shouldn’t have doubted a thing, as that site never lets me down.

We were supposed to actually hike Devil’s Backbone after eating, but the weather was really kind of iffy, so we bailed on the idea. This guy didn’t let a bit of drizzle stop him though.
Keyhole

You do see him, right? In the keyhole? I took that pic from the hostess’ backyard! That’s what she gets to look at while drinking coffee on her back deck. (Not the guy. Just the view in general.) Assuming she drinks coffee on her back deck. Which she probably does because wouldn’t anyone?

Now I wasn’t really listening when she was explaining what this shed was on the property adjacent to hers, but I’m almost positive she said some college kid stays in that shed on the weekends. Which is wicked cool and all, but I couldn’t do it! Even though it’s about the size of our flat in the Netherlands. So maybe I could.
College Kid's Weekend Home

I’m kind of sad I didn’t think to take a picture of the rest of the spread there. It’s always nice to be surrounded by food from which you could choose to eat anything that catches your eye!

And speaking of, I’m off to find the recipe to a breakfast casserole one of the girls made. It was definitely the best item there. I went back for seconds. Or thirds. I’m choosing not to remember how much I actually ate.

Since we didn’t even hike to burn off all of our brunch calories!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

