h1

Running Roundup and Meal Plan Monday.

March 29, 2010

Woot woot. I’ve decided I need to get back into meal planning. I do it periodically, and sometimes I even stick with it for a month or so before falling back off the wagon.

But I’ve started a recipe database in Filemaker Pro because that’s how I roll (it’s got a rating system and everything), so I want to capitalize on that and start thinking ahead.

Most of my recipes, even the ones stored in my database, come from around the web, so I’ll be able to link to most of them easily enough.

And here is what I’m thinking for this week!

Monday: Pasta Della California with Lemon Asparagus
Tuesday: Spicy Sweet and Sour Chicken Tofu with brown rice and vegetables TBD by Tuesday’s trip to the Farmer’s Market
Wednesday: Cuban Black Bean Soup with Spicy Kale and Corn
Thursday: International Quinoa Salad
Friday: Indonesian Curried Bean Stew
Saturday: Chickpea Gumbo (that I discovered while writing my last entry!)
Sunday: Spicy Quinoa, Black Bean, and Corn Burritos

Clearly, I’m a fan of pairing black beans and corn.

Also, jsyk, I’ve only made one of those recipes before. The burritos. Everything else is brand spanking new to me.

Can you tell I’m excited about my return to meal planning? Just look at the number of exclamation points in this post.

JUST LOOK!

Wait, that was only the second. For some reason, it felt like I was typing more exclamation points than I really was.

But here’s something exclamation point worthy: the fact that I’m still running 3 months after my return to the sport. !!! My ankle is definitely still wonky, even as we approach the one year anniversary of the fall down the stairs, but as long as I wear an ankle brace every run, the pain mostly stays away. I’ve just become one of Those People.

You know, the people whose aches and pains can predict the weather. Although, really, I don’t know what’ll happen when the pain comes. I just know that the weather’s changing in some way. Then when it starts raining, I can be like, “Oh, yeah. It’s raining. Guess that’s why my ankle hurts.”

But I ran 17 miles last week, which is more than I’ve run in a week since my half last May. And if I make it through to to the end of THIS May with all going well, I am signing up for the Amsterdam Marathon in October.

Which will, at the very least, be interesting. And terrifying. Oh, and miserably painful.

I’m getting ahead of myself though. I want to get up to at least 25 miles a week before I commit.

I’ll keep you posted!

2 comments

  1. I didn’t know you were going to take the plunge and sign up for a marathon THIS year!??!??!


    • Well, I don’t know if I can do it, but if my ankle will allow it to happen, I’d really like to try!



Leave a Reply

