h1

What does THIS vegan eat? Part 2.

March 29, 2010

Today’s WDTVE segment is all about the two extremes that vegans get accused of being. We have the Junk Food Vegan in one corner and the Beans and Veggies Vegan in the other.

Well, guess what, people. I AM BOTH.

It’s true, I mostly try to stick to beans and veggies, while avoiding too many processed products. But sometimes cravings hit even me, and sometimes, I even give in to them.

So I figured I’d share with you two meals from opposite ends of the nutrition spectrum. BUT what’s actually awesome about these two meals is the common characteristic they do share. And that is the fact that they take about a half hour to make.

I actually love to cook. And given the fact that I don’t go to school and I have no J-O-B, it’s not like I don’t have the time to spend all day in the kitchen. But still, sometimes it’s nice not to spend all day in the kitchen anyway. Like, today. When I spent at least an hour sitting on the couch talking to my family over webcam. Even Lillian participated for about three minutes, showing off her new Dora the Explorer pull-ups.

But enough about underwear you can have accidents in. Let’s get back to the food.

Man, whose idea was it to talk about food and bodily functions in the same post?

I’M MAKING IT WORSE.

Food. Recipes. Two dishes. Okay, I’m recentered.

Let’s address beans and veggies first. So that recipe will be this past Sunday’s meal: Moroccan Couscous from The 30 Minute Vegan by Mark Reinfeld and Jennifer Murray. Because this recipe comes from a cookbook, I won’t be sharing it with you, sorry.

But when it comes to ingredients, we’ve got saffron and parsley and mint and onions, garlic, mushrooms, tomatoes, chickpeas, raisins, artichoke hearts (swoon), curry powder, and cinnamon. Oh, and orange juice. Which is quite possibly the least healthy ingredient in the mix! And you only use three tablespoons of it! And you could probably just make fresh squeezed orange juice yourself, and then the least healthy ingredient would be what? The salt you add in at the end? The couscous since it’s a carb? Maybe the vegetable broth if you cook the couscous in there, that is if it’s storebought and has extra sodium?

But how nice to have such a problem figuring out an ingredient that could be considered unhealthy.

As for its taste, I have no idea if it’s actually authentically ~Moroccan~ because what do I know about Morocco, but it was delicious. I didn’t have as many tomatoes as the recipe called for, and I do wish I had. Not really because of the taste but because of the look. When I served the dish to Michael, he said it looked good, and I said, “It looks like the desert.” Because doesn’t it?

Photobucket

But I guess if a dish is going to look like a desert, a Moroccan dish makes the most sense.

A couple extra tomatoes might have helped give it more color. I also didn’t have as many raisins as the recipe called for, and again, I do wish I had. When I had the occasional bite with the raisin, it gave the flavor such an interesting tang. And I’m not even a big fan of raisins!

Also, that is a very good eye you have. I did use quinoa instead of couscous. Because it’s what I had! I took a second pic of the food once I had mixed the vegetables with the quinoa, but it kind of looked a mess, so even though it tasted like they were meant to be paired, I’ll spare you the visual evidence.

Oh, and speaking of visual evidence, I know you can’t see the mushrooms, but that is because I’m still in the chop-’em-up-tiny phase. I’m getting better at cooking with them regularly, but I still need to hide them from myself in order to swallow them down. I hope to be a master mushroom eater by 2011.

In the meantime, I did promise you a Junk Food Vegan masterpiece.

So now for the less healthy dish! Where my other tomatoes went! This is Saturday night’s meal: chilaquiles. Now I admit I had never even heard of chilaquiles before I found this recipe, and as far as I can tell, it’s nowhere near an accurate representation of the real deal, but I don’t really care.

It is so freaking good.

But it is so not freaking good for me.

I use an entire bag of tortilla chips. And whatever storebought salsa catches my eye that day.

And sure, I add lettuce and fresh tomatoes and homemade guac, which is really just avocado and lime juice and salt and pepper, so that it’s almost like I’m cooking real food.

But any dish that relies on a bag of chips and a jar of salsa cannot be praised for its health factor.

So I only make this like once a month. But how happy it makes us when I do.

Just look at it!
Photobucket

So there you have it. More information about what this vegan eats. Not a meat substitute in sight! Just beans and veggies and grains and beans and, that’s right, chips and salsa.

Leave a Reply

