h1

What does this vegan eat? Part 3.

April 22, 2010

Stir-fry! Slash fried rice! Slash veggies and rice and maybe some beans or nuts, who knows!

I first fell in love with this smorgasbord in a skillet back in the UK when I realized almost every Thursday night that I had a huge box of veggies arriving in my CSA delivery the next day, and I had a random assortment of last week’s veggies still hanging out in my fridge.

So I just put them all together, add some seasoning, and voila. There you have it.

I don’t belong to a CSA here in the Netherlands, though I really should look into that, but I still fall back on the one pot meal pretty regularly. Especially on days like today, when I hit up the Farmer’s Market even though I knew full well that I had a boatload of veggies at home already.

So tonight, I decided to use at least one color of every vegetable in my fried rice. Except for blue/purple. Because I didn’t have any. I did have blueberries, but I figured I’d save those for my cereal in the morning. They’d work better there than in a wok.

What I DID have though is:
shallots, garlic, mushrooms – whiteish?
bell pepper – red
summer squash – yellow
bok choy – greeeeeeen.

Plus some dill, lemon juice, salt and pepper. Oh, and cashews! Not the most extravagant of meals, but everyone needs an easy, fall-back meal for those days when you just don’t know what else to do.

May I present to you this week’s version of that very meal for the Gorka household:

Photobucket

Thank you, and good night.

Leave a Reply

